Happy New Year

My family has never done much to ring in the new year, but I remember one time when we lit sparklers indoors while watching the descent of the ball on Times Square in New York City on television. My brother was about five or six and I seven years older. Mother and Dad were there, but it was still a wonder I didn’t set the house on fire. With my limited vision, waving a lighted sparkler around wasn’t the safest thing I could have done.

On January 1st like clockwork, my mother took down the tree and all decorations. It’s funny, but when she was ready to decorate the house for the holidays, everyone was willing to help, but when it was time for everything to come down, I was the only one who pitched in because I was the only one home, and it wasn’t hard for Mother to drag me away from whatever I was doing to help her. My dad and brother had places to go, things to do, and people to see.

I’m making two resolutions this year. For the first time in six years, I need to lose weight. I found this out when I went to the doctor on Monday following Thanksgiving. Right after a holiday food fest may not have been the best time to go to the doctor, but when I made the appointment, I didn’t give it a moment’s thought, just like last year when I arranged to have a colonoscopy two days after Christmas with leftovers in the house. Anyway, the doctor said that my weight gain was probably due to stress and the fact that I’m not as active, now that Bill is gone, and I’m no longer caring for him. She said it was no big deal, just to increase my activity and watch my calorie intake. Because diabetes runs in my family, I’m probably making a bigger deal out of it than I should.

The second thing I’m going to try and do this year is write a memoir about my six-year experience caring for Bill. I’ve been reading  a similar book by Michele Bertanini, Life with Clara: One Caregiver’s Journey, about her eight years of caring for her mother-in-law. You can read excerpts from the book on her blog, and I’ll post more after I finish the book.

Meanwhile, please click on the link below to hear me sing a song associated with this holiday. I hope your new year is safe, happy, and prosperous.

 

Auld Lang Zyne

 

Abbie Johnson Taylor, Author of We Shall Overcome and How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year

  1. Good luck with your new memoirs. I am sure you will do well with it.

    Most memories from my new years as a child were just sitting around in the morning, watching the rose bowl parade, and then heading out to do some sliding on the hill out in front of the house., that is, after a wonderful dinner spread. Nothing like blasting down the hill on a full stomach.

    Nice post. good song too. I think your voice is getting better, or at least it sounded better on that song.

    dp

    Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass, it’s about learning to dance in the rain.

    Vivian Green

    _____

    • Hi Deon, thanks for the vote of confidence. Once I finish Michele’s book, I’ll have an idea of how to proceed. I’ve already written a couple of pieces about our life together which I can incorporate at the beginning of my book. Will see what happens. Take care, and happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

