Dating Game

No, I’m not in the market for another husband. I wasn’t when Bill came along. It just happened. If another one comes along, so be it, but in the meantime, although I miss Bill, I’m content with my single life. 

I just finished reading Dating Game by Danielle Steel. This book is about another woman who lost her husband but not to death. For twenty-four years, Paris had everything she could ever want: a husband, kids, friends, a nice house, has been content to be a stay at home wife and  mother, and has done nothing else. Then all of a sudden, her husband drops a bomb. He tells her he’s leaving her for another woman about fifteen years younger.

For the next eight or nine months, Paris is devastated. Numb with shock, she manages to get through her son’s high school graduation and the summer months and get him settled at college. A friend recommends a therapist, and the frequent sessions give her the strength to get through the fall. In January, after her husband has married the other woman and another friend invites her to a dinner party in order to set her up with another  man, she decides to make a new start.

With the encouragement of her therapist, she moves from her home in Connecticut to San Francisco to be closer to her son, a student at UCLA Berkeley, and her daughter, a production assistant in L.A. In San Francisco, Paris becomes employed for the first time when she accidentally finds a job with a firm that plans weddings, dinner parties, and other events. Over the course of a year and a half, after three relationships that don’t work out, she surprises everyone by doing something totally unexpected, and the book ends happily.

A book like this helps me put my life in perspective. Bill is gone, but he didn’t leave me for another woman. Unlike Paris, I’ll never see my husband at family gatherings with a second wife. When Bill complained about the way I did something, I said, “Find yourself another woman.”

He always said, “I’m looking.” I doubt he meant it, especially after his strokes left him unable to do much for himself. Even if he could have tried to find another woman, I don’t think he would have, no matter how dissatisfied he was with me at times.

On the other hand, Paris was a perfect wife, she thought. Her husband never had a reason to want another woman because all she did was take care of him, the  house, and the kids. He was never dissatisfied with her, and yet, he found another woman he liked better. Go figure.

Last year, I reviewed Danielle Steel’s book, Rogue, and you can read that here. You’ll also find more information about her and her books on her Website. For those of you who are visually impaired or otherwise unable to read print material, Dating Game is available on the National Library Service’s Braille and audio download site. I’m sure it’s also available in print and eBook formats from your local bookstore or many online retailers. If you like a humorous, heartwarming story of how tragedy leads to blessing and hope for the future, I recommend reading this book, even if you haven’t lost a man.

 

 

Abbie Johnson Taylor, Author of We Shall Overcome and How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family  Caregiver

Leave a Reply

