Departure

When Bill proposed to me, he was living in Fowler, Colorado, and I was living in Sheridan, Wyoming. At first, I thought he wanted me to move to Fowler. But when we talked on the phone after I received his letter asking me to marry him, he surprised me by saying, “Actually, I was thinking of moving to Sheridan.

Two months later, he arrived and spent a week with me. The time flew by, and all too soon, we were back at the bus station, saying goodbye. The following poem from How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver describes those last few moments before he got on that bus.

 

Departure

 

We kiss in the rain

while the bus thrums nearby,

waiting to take you away.

“What’s this hood?” you ask, as our lips meet.

I try to remove it.

“Keep it on,” you say, as I yield.

I hold you, will the bus to leave without you.

All too soon, you’re gone.

 

Abbie Johnson Taylor, Author of We Shall Overcome and How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

6 thoughts on “Departure

    • I would like to think that if I could go back and do it all over again, I would do things the same. I truly believe that I am right where I am supposed to be, however screwed up it feels at times. Deon

  1. Hi Deon, I’m glad you have a clear picture in your mind of what you would do if you had it to do over again. Although I have no regrets, if I’d had some warning of the trials and tribulations Bill and I would endure as a result of his two strokes, I would have had a lot more second thoughts about marrying him. Adjusting to vision loss of your own is one thing, and you seem to have done that pretty well. Caring for a loved one who has lost his abilities, I think, is more difficult. Thanks for your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

