On Writing and Exercise

Thanks to The Writing Bug for inspiring this. In a recent blog post, author Susan Mark compares the craft of writing to the exercise of riding a bicycle. One thing I’ve learned is that writing, like exercise, is easier if it’s something you want to do. An exercise program won’t work if you can’t get motivated to do it on a regular basis. If you’re writing something you have to write, and it’s not something you want to write, it’s hard to get into that as well. 

I participate in water exercise classes at the YMCA three days a week. On the days I don’t go to the Y, I take walks. When the weather’s bad, I use my treadmill. That’s pretty boring because I see the same old scene outside my window while I’m walking, but if I have a good book to listen to, I can usually stay with it for forty-five  minutes if time allows. Because I enjoy these activities, I’m motivated to do them on a regular basis.

Since January, I’ve been working on a memoir about my six years of experience caring for my late husband, totally blind and partially paralyzed as a result of two strokes. I have to distance myself once in a while because of the book’s personal nature. Last week was one of those weeks so I decided to focus on poetry instead. Because I told myself I didn’t have to write the next chapter of my memoir today, I was only too glad to go to my computer and do something else.

I’d love to go bike riding if I could ride a tandem with someone else. Because of my visual impairment, it wouldn’t be a good idea to steer my own bike. However, I’m content with my current exercise program and writing regimen. Happy riding and writing!

 

Abbie Johnson Taylor, Author of We Shall Overcome and How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

9 thoughts on “On Writing and Exercise

  1. Abbie, I’d love to bike with you on a tandom! Next time you’re in Florida we’ll have to get one and ride around!

  2. Wonderful post, Abbie! I’d never have connected the two, exercise and writing — I HATE exercise and I LOVE writing; no wonder I didn’t make the connection! LOL Great parallel, excellent post!

  3. I just need to find an exercise I like. Most any kind of writing I like. However, there are days I don’t want to do either – writing or exercise. On those rare days I select movies and watch all afternoon. Good post Abbie.

Leave a Reply

