Why I’m Not a Republican

Thanks to Bruce Atchison for inspiring the title. I don’t write about politics often, but after three weeks of listening to news about the government shutdown, I’ve come to a startling conclusion. Since today is National Poetry Day, I was planning to post something about that, but I need to get this off my chest instead. 

Republicans are terrorists in their own way. They’re not likely to stage a massacre at a shopping mall, bomb a sporting event, or hijack a plane and  crash it into The World Trade Center, but for the past three weeks, they’ve been holding our government hostage in an attempt to abolish Obamacare. Did the Democrats intentionally cause a government shutdown in order to repeal No Child Left Behind? No, they accepted the fact that the legislation was passed and went on with their lives. That’s what good politicians and sportsmen should do. Accept defeat and go on. 

I’m not saying Obamacare is good, and I don’t like No Child Left Behind, either. However, the Republicans threw a nasty curve ball when the house of representatives passed legislation to avoid a government shutdown that would abolish Obamacare, knowing full well the senate wouldn’t pass it and President Obama would veto it. As a result, many government workers are without pay, and some have families to support and no other source of income. 

Fortunately, I’m not one of those, but I’m concerned that a continued government shutdown and default might effect social security disability and other benefits, but do the Republicans care? No, they won’t tell you this, but their party’s main concern is for the rich, and Obamacare definitely won’t help them. They’re pulling out all the stops, and President Obama may be forced to give in to save this country. Although they’re not violent, Republicans can  be just as ruthless as Osama Bin Ladden. 

Here’s the irony. A Republican President declared war on terrorism after 9/11. During next year’s election when you go to the polls, ask yourself this question. Do I want democracy or terrorism? The answer should be obvious.

 

Abbie Johnson Taylor, Author of We Shall Overcome and How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

8 thoughts on “Why I’m Not a Republican

  1. Though the Republicans are rather ham-fisted about some things, I understand their objection to Obamacare. It has already caused the lay-off of full-time employees and shortening of working hours for others. Many workers who had private health care plans have lost them. Worse yet, Obamacare premiums are higher than what people paid before. So much for President Obama’s promise that if people liked their plan, they could keep it. Companies who want private plans will be fined. consequently it makes them dump workers off their plans rather than pay extra.

    If anybody is holding Americans hostage, it’s the Democrats. They’re working toward a government-run health care system that will deliver poor service and ration health care resources. Look at Britain’s National Health Service and Canada’s system and you’ll see what Americans are in for under Obamacare. Little wonder then that Republicans want to save America from a medical train wreck that they’ve witnessed in other lands.

    • The Republicans are the ones who introduced legislation to avoid a government shutdown that would repeal Obamacare. They’re fighting at the expense of government employees and possibly those of us who receive social security disability and other benefits. I agree that Obamacare may not be good, but this isn’t the way to get rid of it.

  2. Bravo. I was a democrat when I was in my 20s to mid 30s, a card carrying republican in my mid 30s to mid 50s, and now a independent. This stupidity has to stop. The republicans are pretty stupid on all this debt stuff for sure – especially the Tea Party faction. The should leave Obamacare out of it. It is here to stay.I don’t like Obamacare, but it is what it is … and it is the law.

  3. Greetings Abbie: I am disturbed and saddened to read this post with which I must respectfully, yet strongly disagree. As a Christian first, an American second and a Republican third, it has never crossed my mind to kill more than three-thousand people by crashing four airplanes. While we are all free to say and write anything we like, in my view, it is at the very least, irresponsible to make this comparison even with your disclaimers of violence on the part of the Republicans. Shutting down the government has been done more than once, but never have I heard more mean-spirited, hate-filled and vitriolic language as I have heard over the last three weeks. Abbie, I do not believe you to be a terrorist and it is sad that you believe that I am one because of my convictions. Please understand that even though you have stated your views on this subject, I do not believe you to be a terrorist. There are things worth fighting for. Here is something for you to consider. Would it have been better for the 13 colonies to continue under the monarchy of taxation with representation rather than fighting for independence? It is my view that we are almost there again and I am willing to lose my disability check over it. If that makes me a terrorist, then so be it! By the way, we are governed by a constitutional republic, not a democracy. God bless you and thank you for reading.

    • Hi Richard, Of course not all Republicans are terrorists, and I’m sorry you got that message. I know you’re not a terrorist, and you’ve been a big help to me in the past. I hope we can still be friends who agree to disagree.

Leave a Reply

