A Perfect Day Revisited

I recently heard that rock and roll icon Lou Reed passed away. This morning, I heard that one of the Pope’s cardinals in Rome tweeted the last verse of one of Reed’s songs, “A Perfect Day.” Not being familiar with Lou Reed’s music, I didn’t realize he’d written that song which I mentioned last winter when I blogged about a book with that same title by Richard Paul Evans. Although the song had nothing to do with the book, it kept popping into my head, as I was reading it. 

Lewis Allan Reed was born on March 2nd, 1942, in Brooklyn, New York. He died on October 27th in Southampton, New York, at the age of 71. Besides being a singer/songwriter, he was a producer and photographer. The only instrument he played was a guitar. He was active from 1964 until he died. He worked with many recording companies including MGM, RCA, and Warner Brothers and was associated with a variety of performers and groups such as The Velvet Underground, John Cale, and Nico. After he passed, I heard that some of his songs, including “Walk on the Wild Side,” had negative connotations. To learn more about Lou Reed, click here.

Tomorrow is the anniversary of my husband Bill’s passing, and although I doubt Bill was a Lou Reed fan, I’ll remember the perfect day we had before he died when we ate lunch at a local pizza joint. Here’s a video of Susan Boyle singing “A Perfect Day.” I also mentioned this song in my post about Richard Paul Evans’ book. May you have many perfect days with those you love. 

 

Abbie Johnson Taylor, Author of We Shall Overcome and How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

3 thoughts on “A Perfect Day Revisited

Leave a Reply

