Escape

Have you ever wanted to fly away like a bird? I have, even as an adult, especially during stressful times. When I was single and employed, I often dreamed of flying out my third floor apartment window, then up and over rooftops and away from my job’s stresses. In the six years I cared for Bill, while sitting in the back yard, I frequently looked at the sky and wished I could lift myself over the fence and neighboring houses and yards into the clouds where nothing was required of me. Last summer after Bill passed, I looked at the sky and realized I no longer needed to get away from it all. This inspired the following poem which has recently been published on Voxpoetica.

ESCAPE

I used to dream of flying

up, up, up, away,

where problems didn’t exist,

and all lived in peace and harmony.

 

Hands raised skyward,

I jumped, flapped legs and arms,

propelled myself higher, higher, higher,

far from bullies, bad teachers,

impossible bosses, noisy neighbors,

trials of a family caregiver.

Surrounded by blue and white,

I looked down, content.

 

Now, with childhood and husband gone,
I look at the sky,

no longer wish to go there.

found my happy place.

 

Abbie Johnson Taylor, Author of We Shall Overcome and How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

6 thoughts on “Escape

  1. Beautiful poem, Abbie. I like the image of flying, although that was never my preferred escape fantasy. I think I’m too afraid of heights. No, as Bugs Bunny put it, “Good old terra firma – the more the firma, the less the terra.”

    I want to escape all the time. My is simply to drive, ending someplace where there are mountains and trees and streams. I’ll get in my car sometimes and think … I have a credit card …. I could just keep going. Occasionally I have to take a Saturday and go for a long drive by myself to get it out of my system.

  2. Abbie–Congratulations on having another of your poems published! I am glad to read that you have landed at a happier place. I think you will like “The Thanksgiving Poetry Game,” which I just posted tonight on my blog . Take care! Alice

  3. Abbie, I had that same feeling of wanting to escape at times when I had the responsibility of my mother. I even had to escape for short times during the year my husband was so ill. It is a need to save ourselves, I think. The human body and mind can only take so much before we have to escape somehow. Even today I love to take long drives alone, getting away from responsibilities we don’t want to deal with at this time. Congratulations on having your poem published. Good work.

Leave a Reply

