Thanksgiving

One thing I’m thankful for this year is a blog post. A retired teacher, blogger Alice Massa is a member of Behind Our Eyes, a group of writers with disabilities with whom I’ve been associated for years. In a recent post on her blog, she shares instructions for a Thanksgiving acrostic game, and I encourage you to try this game with your family this year. According to Alice, it should work with children ages six and up.

In the meantime, here’s my Thanksgiving acrostic poem. In case you’re new to my blog and not familiar with acrostic poems, the first letter in each line spells a word, in this case, Thanksgiving. The first letter of each line of my poem is in bold and capitalized so if you have some vision, you might be able to see how I used the poem to spell the word. If you’re totally blind, I suggest you read the poem line by line with your screen reader or Braille display so you can understand how this works. I hope you all have a nice Thanksgiving and a lot for which to be thankful.

THANKSGIVING

Thankful I am for

Hands that caressed,

Arms that enfolded,

New life he shared,

Knowledge he imparted.

Soothing my soul, he

Gave me his heart.

I treated it well.

Velvet, soft,

In love, I cherished it,

Not bending or breaking. He’s

Gone, but I remember.

Abbie Johnson Taylor, Author of We Shall Overcome and How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

8 thoughts on “Thanksgiving

  1. That is life, Abbie. Remembering. I always think of my husband at the holidays and those memories sometimes bring tears, but many times they also bring smiles. I am thankful I know you and can read your blog. Happy Thanksgiving, to you.

  2. Abbie–Thanksgiving Greetings! I have been looking forward to your post, and your “acrostic of thanks” was worth waiting for–it is a beautiful and memorable poem. Your acrostic is a wonderful tribute to your late husband, Bill. Thank you for mentioning me in your post, and thank you for taking the “Thanksgiving Poetry Game” to another level and to a greater audience. We are thankful that you are serving as president of Behind Our Eyes (BOE). Have a blessed Thanksgiving! Alice

  3. Abbie, I loved the poem. Abbie, you have been a loyal reader of Writing Wranglers and Warriors for a long time and some of the other member suggested I contact you to see if you’d like to post once a month on our blog. You could post whatever you wanted, usually around 400 words with photos and links. As you also know, we share and comment on each of our daily posts, which helps with promotion. If you’d be interested in joining us, email me at cherleygrogg@gmail.com Thanks, Cher’ley

Leave a Reply

