A Yellow Wedding

Last summer, I attended my brother’s wedding in Florida. It was a beautiful ceremony on the front porch of a bed and breakfast in West Palm Beach. The reception afterward was held behind the establishment in what they called a backyard bar. With plenty of food and drink and dancing to music by my brother’s old college band, despite the heat, humidity, and mosquitoes, it was a lot of fun. This inspired the following poem that appears in the fall/winter issue of Magnets and Ladders. You can read it at http://www.magnetsandladders.org .

YELLOW WEDDING

Swathed in yellow, she glides to the altar,

attended by bridesmaids, also in yellow,

carrying bouquets of yellow flowers.

 

A blackbird sadly calls

as if knowing this is the second time around,

wondering if this time, their love will last forever.

 

Is there a particular wedding that stands out in your mind?

 

Abbie Johnson Taylor, Author of We Shall Overcome, How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver, and That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

Order That’s Life from Finishing Line Press

Order That’s Life from Amazon.

4 thoughts on “A Yellow Wedding

  1. Abbie, I think this poem is memorable. I love the stark contrasts of the yellow world, to the black bird flying over it. I found myself thinking of these images as I walked through the woods with my dogs, kicking up the rose-gold leaves that carpet our path these days. Nearly always, I hear sthe sounds of my beloved crows flying over the woods, and they reminded me of your black bird which takes on the role of a fetish or totem presence in the poem.

  2. Abbie–How nice to think of a warm summer wedding as we step into the Polar Plunge! I certainly remember my sister’s wedding on December 27, 1975. Despite a blizzard, the rehearsal and rehearsal dinner took place. The next day, the snow-covered campus of Indiana University and its Beck Chapel made a beautiful setting for a winter wedding. Although the weather was difficult, all but a couple of people were able to arrive at the wedding and reception. Thanks for sharing information about MAGNETS AND LADDERS–a wonderful online publication! Alice

Leave a Reply

