Holiday Hardship

Thanksgiving is almost here. In past years, I’ve lost my mother, two grandmothers, my husband, and my father. Although I try to keep a joyful attitude during this time, the following poem from That’s Life illustrates how difficult the holidays can be for those who have lost loved ones.

HOLIDAY HARDSHIP

Thanksgiving is coming.

Already, a friend far away

asks if I have plans.

I’ll spend Christmas

in the tropics with my brother,

but Thanksgiving’s up in the air

with no husband, father, mother.

Other relatives have plans.

 

At least I don’t have to clean the house,

shop, prepare food for twelve people,

pick up after everyone,

deal with leftovers

while men watch football,

women fail to be helpful,

children run around,

scream, argue, cry.

It’s not the same.

If you’ve lost loved ones, how do you celebrate the holidays?

Abbie Johnson Taylor, Author of We Shall Overcome, How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver, and That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

Order That’s Life from Finishing Line Press.

Order That’s Life from Amazon.

One thought on “Holiday Hardship

  1. It’s always hard to be happy at times which remind one of lost loved ones. I don’t bother with all the hype and activity. The phony happiness of people bugs me. I’d rather settle down with my bunny, Deborah, and enjoy her company. We both enjoy quiet companionship and feel no need to do anything special. On Canada’s Thanksgiving Day, Deborah and I had a relaxing time. She loves being petted and I love to pet her. Simple pleasures like that can’t be bought.

Leave a Reply

