Sick of Winter

Spring can come any time as far as I’m concerned. I’m tired of looking at snow, feeling arctic air on my face, and walking like a little old lady over ice to keep from ending up horizontal. I live on a side street built into a hill. In order to get anywhere on foot, I have to ascend and descend an incline. Sidewalks aren’t always shoveled, and the street is a mess because the city only bothers to plow main thoroughfares. This makes walking out of the question so since I don’t drive because of my visual impairment, I must depend on the Minibus and friends for transportation during this time of year.

I could move to Florida to be closer to my brother, but it’s miserably hot and muggy during the summer, as I discovered last year when I attended his wedding in July. Besides, my house is paid for, and relocating would be a big hassle. I’ve grown attached to Sheridan, despite its idiosyncrasies, so I’ll stay put and complain about winter in Wyoming.

AN ELEMENT OF WHITE

I knew it was coming,

but silent, unwelcome,

it crept into my awareness.

When I looked out the window,

It was everywhere, the sidewalk,

grass, street all covered in milky white.

Unexpected, unwanted, there it was.

I couldn’t make it go away.

From That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

Order from Finishing Line Press.

Order from Amazon.

Abbie Johnson Taylor, Author

Vote for my new book idea.

2 thoughts on “Sick of Winter

  1. Abbie–I understand completely and appreciate your well-written sentiments. Fortunately, in Milwaukee, sidewalks must be cleared within 24 hours after a snowfall ends. My biggest complaint is the salt/san mixture that too heavily coats some sidewalks where Zoe and I walk. I must try those four little boots again for her paws! Meanwhile, I will continue to use Musher’s Secret to help protect her paws. Stay safe and warm in the winter wonderland! Alice

Leave a Reply

