Two Years After My Husband’s Passing

Today’s poem was inspired by the video prompt at https://vimeo.com/123576629 . This is the second in a series of prompts posted at http://wapoetlaureate.org/ . .

 

TWO YEARS AFTER MY HUSBAND’s PASSING

 

In his mid-60’s, the same age as when we met, with gray hair, sunglasses,

he takes the seat next to me at the ball park.

I half expect him to say, “Hello sweetie.”

Instead, he asks in his familiar, lilting voice

if I’m a Colorado Rockies fan.

I say yes, intent on the game.

 

My cousin whispers that he looks like Bill.

I ignore her, ask if he knows the score

since I can’t read the board with my limited vision.

He says it’s 0-5 with the opposing team ahead.

We listen, watch in silence,

 

sing “Take Me Out to the Ballgame” at the seventh inning stretch.

He offers to bring me something to eat.

I say I’ll go with him,

stand, take his arm, allow him to guide me,

 

marvel that his blind eyes can now see in death,

and he no longer walks with a limp.

We purchase our food and drinks, return to our seats.

 

The opposing team creams the Rockies 12-3.

As we’re getting ready to leave, we shake hands.

He says he’ll see me around,

walks away–I take my cousin’s arm.

We file out of the stadium.

 

Abbie Johnson Taylor, Author

 

Order That’s Life from Finishing Line Press.

 

Order That’s Life from Amazon.

 

Vote for my new book idea.

Leave a Reply

