A Report Card for the Graduate

Yesterday, I posted a poem inspired by an event that took place at our local community college graduation. Now, if you or someone you know or love is graduating this year, here’s an ideal commencement address.

alice13wordwalk

NOTE: Each year around this time, we read or hear on both the local and national news names of famous people who will deliver commencement addresses in our area and throughout the United States. Then, eventually, I find myself enjoying a news segment featuring highlights of memorable graduation speeches of this season of turning tassels. Although I never gave a speech to graduates–on the final class meeting of each of the courses which I taught, I, from my classroom podium, did share with my students a brief farewell address with notes of “good luck” and “best wishes.”

The following essay is too long for a Hallmark card, too short for a chapbook–but the speech below is my commencement address, never delivered. Fortunately, now, through my Wordwalk blog, I can share my thoughts about graduation from my Wordwalk podium.

After the Tassel Is Turned–A Report Card for the Graduate

by Alice…

View original post 1,016 more words

Leave a Reply

