Before and After (Poetry)

In the beginning, you knew all about me,

which buttons to push,

how to hook me up,

install programs, fix problems.

Now, you hesitate,

push the wrong buttons.

When I don’t give you the desired response,

you beat my keyboard, proclaim I don’t work.

I needed new parts because I was slow to start.

You had them installed.

Still, you become frustrated

when I don’t perform the desired function.

I wish I could read your thoughts,

still want to please you.

***

This poem appears in How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver and That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

***

Abbie Johnson Taylor, Author

Order That’s Life from Finishing Line Press

Order That’s Life from Amazon.

Vote for my new book idea.

2 thoughts on “Before and After (Poetry)

    • Thanks for your observation. Actually, this was a message to my late husband from his computer. Bill knew all about computers, but after his strokes, he had difficulty remembering how to perform the simplest of tasks.

Leave a Reply

