Anniversary Gift

In the past ten years, I’ve had three life-changing events, all prefaced by natural disasters. In December of 2004, an earthquake and tsunami struck the coast of Japan. In January of 2005, my husband Bill proposed to me by mail. He was living in Fowler, Colorado, while I was here in Sheridan, Wyoming. After a two-year long distance relationship, I thought he just wanted to be friends so the letter came as a shock.

In August of 2005, Hurricane Katrina hit New Orleans. On September 10, 2005, Bill and I were married in a beautiful ceremony in my grandmother’s back yard.

Our Wedding Picture

Our Wedding Picture

This was taken on our wedding day, but I’m not sure where or when. I’m wearing a light green wedding dress, and my hair is adorned with flowers. Bill is standing on my right sight in a dark green suit with tie, and his outfit is complimented by the sunglasses he often wore when he went out.

In October of 2013, Super Storm Sandy struck New York. On October 30th, 2013, Bill passed away in a nursing home where he’d been for the past month, declining as a result of two strokes after six years of being cared for by me at home.

Today, we would have been married ten years. To commemorate our anniversary, I would like to share a poem from my latest collection, That’s Life,

and the song that inspired it. When I heard this song a couple of years ago on A Prairie Home Companion, it was as if Bill were speaking to me from above. After two years, I’m finally able to sing it with dry eyes. You can click on the link below to hear me recite the poem and sing the song.

***

WORDS FROM A LOVED ONE’S GRAVE

Everywhere you are,

I will always be with you,

watching from above.

Every time you breathe,

every decision you make,

I’ll know about it

and love you even more.

***

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/15213189/wherever%20you%20are.mp3

***

Abbie J. Taylor 010Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

Front Book Cover - We Shall OvercomeWe Shall Overcome

Cover: How to Build a Better Mousetrap by Abbie Johnson TaylorHow to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

Order from Amazon

Order That’s Life from Finishing Line Press.

Vote for my new book idea.

10 thoughts on “Anniversary Gift

  1. Oh, Abby, that song brought tears to my eyes. My husband was a singer and had a beautiful voice like you have. I imagined him singing those words to me and it really made me cry. We were married for 45 years and he has been gone six years and I still miss him every day, but I feel he is here in our house all the time. Your singing that song was so, so touching.

  2. Abbie–Thank you for sharing your beautiful singing of such a beautiful song! Your reading of your poem and your sharing your musical gift are very special to your readers and listeners; in turn, I hope that your day was comforted by this tender tribute to your husband. Blessings, Alice

Leave a Reply

