I’ve Caught You?

You fit into me

like a hook into an eye

a fish hook

an open eye Margaret Atwood

***

What did I do wrong

that you consider me a fish hook?

Always a button to my hole,

Why do you think ill of me now?

I’m sorry

if I made you feel like a trapped fish.

You were always free.

Now, I’m a fisherman–

you’re my catch? Why?

***

I was inspired to write the above poem by a prompt on the Washington state poet laureate’s site which involves responding to another poem. The poem I answered and quoted above by Margaret Atwood caught my fancy during a lecture by poet Jane Elkington Wohl about understanding poetry. To hear me read it and my response, click here.

***

Abbie J. Taylor 010Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

Front Book Cover - We Shall OvercomeWe Shall Overcome

Cover: How to Build a Better Mousetrap by Abbie Johnson TaylorHow to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

Order from Amazon

Leave a Reply

