An April Poem

I wrote the following series of lunes on an unseasonably warm afternoon earlier this month in my back yard. I sat and listened and wrote about what I heard and felt. At one point, I got too hot, sitting at my picnic table so moved to a shady spot on my patio and incorporated that in the poem. Click this link to hear me read it.

***

The Fourth Month

 

bright sun shines

in a cloudless sky above

nature sings praises

 

enjoying bird songs

I sit in the yard

breathe fresh air

 

hammer pounds nearby

saw whines loud and long

bringing us change

 

radiant sun burns

fair skin if not protected

must find shade

 

relief from sun

cool breeze soothes warm skin

bug caresses face

 

an April afternoon

feels like a summer day

where is spring

***

Abbie J. Taylor 010Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

Front Book Cover - We Shall OvercomeWe Shall Overcome

Cover: How to Build a Better Mousetrap by Abbie Johnson TaylorHow to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

Order from Amazon

 

2 thoughts on “An April Poem

Leave a Reply

