A Poem About My Mother

One thing I remember about my mother is her cooking. The following poem illustrates this and her inferiority complex when it came to meal preparation. This poetry form is a haibun, consisting of two paragraphs of prose and one haiku. Of course you’ll note here that the haiku has nothing to do with nature, but in my view, anything goes. Click this link to hear me read the poem.

***

MOTHER’S CUISINE

Mother considered herself a mediocre cook, but I thought otherwise. I loved her meatloaf, steak San Marco, calico beans. When complimented, she said, “It’s too dry, too salty, needs more pepper, should have been cooked longer.”

When I was in college, she mashed potatoes for the first time: boiled, peeled, sliced them, added milk and butter, attacked them with an electric mixer. They turned out chunky but still good. On Christmas Day, with family and friends gathered around the table, when I asked for a second helping of potatoes, she said, “Well, you’re used to cafeteria food.”

mother’s chocolate cake

evokes happy memories

of a child’s delight

***

Mother and her cooking are long gone, but I still remember. What about you? Happy Mother’s Day.

***

Abbie J. Taylor 010Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

Front Book Cover - We Shall OvercomeWe Shall Overcome

Cover: How to Build a Better Mousetrap by Abbie Johnson TaylorHow to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

 

6 thoughts on “A Poem About My Mother

  1. Abbie, my mother was known for her cooking and she fed the large family very well. She cooked plain country food with little seasoning other than salt, pepper and meat seasoning, She used onions liberally and made the best gravy for her home made light and fluffy biscuits. My cousins still talk about coming to our house and my mother’s good cooking. I miss her good cooking and I can’t seem to do it the way she did. She didn’t use recipes and didn’t write down anything. I learned to make biscuits by standing at her side and watching her over and over again. As kids I think we all associate good food with mothers.

    • Glenda, I agree that mothers and food go together. I don’t think my cooking was as good as my mother’s, but my husband seemed to like it most of the time. I wish now that I’d paid more attention to my mother when she cooked.

  2. Abbie, This is lovely and I really appreciate the prompt for your readers to think about their own mother in the kitchen. My mother was an excellent cook, though not at all gourmet — more of the meat-and-potatoes variety. She cooked every holiday meal — I was one of those women who Garrison Keillor talks about, in my forties and still never having had an opportunity to cook a turkey. One thing I especially remember from childhood is that there was always room for one more. If a cousin, or a whole family showed up at mealtime, she put more potatoes on or sliced more bread and made it work. I so miss sitting at her table!

Leave a Reply

