Heat Wave

It’s hot all over the country. Even in Wyoming, temperatures are climbing into the triple digits. I recently read in the newspaper that they’re predicted to be above normal for the next few months.

I’m reminded of the summer of 2012, one of the hottest on record, my husband Bill’s last year. A conversation I had with my homemaker during that time inspired me to write the following poem. I posted it here a couple of years ago, but I think it’s worth re-visiting. Click this link to hear me read it.

***

TERESA’S FORCAST

 

“It’s going to be hot forever,”

she says on a sweltering July day.

“seventy-six degrees in San Diego,

a hundred and six here. Maybe by Thanksgiving,

you’ll be able to cook your turkey indoors,

but the climate’s getting warmer.”

 

“Not in Wyoming–She’s full of it,” I tell myself.

“Take what she says with a grain of salt.”

 

As she leaves, she says,

“It’s a hundred degrees. Don’t go out.”

 

“You probably shouldn’t be out, either,” I say.

“Why don’t you stay?”

She snickers–the kitchen door slams.

***

This conversation is outlined in my new memoir, My Ideal Partner: How I Met, Married, and Cared for the Man I Loved Despite Debilitating Odds. It’s now available in print and Kindle through Createspace and Amazon and in various eBook formats from Smashwords. You’ll find links to where you can order from these sources at the book’s page on my site. I recommend curling up under a ceiling fan or in front of your air conditioner with this book.

***

Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

We Shall Overcome

How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

My Ideal Partner: How I Met, Married, and Cared for the Man I Loved Despite Debilitating Odds

 

Leave a Reply

