About Me and My Ideal Partner

In a vain attempt at shameless promotion of my new book, I recently completed a Smashwords author interview. Writers can choose from a variety of questions or make up their own. From the questions available on the site, I chose thirteen. Here they are, along with my answers.

***

What is your writing process?

You can edit something till the cows come home and never get anything published so here’s what I do. I put down a story or poem without worrying about typographical errors or anything I might want to change later. Then, I go back and edit. Since my late husband was a baseball fan, I’ve adapted the three-strikes-and-you’re-out method. This means I usually read through something at least three times, making changes as I go. I read my work aloud as often as I can during this process. Even after something is published, while reading it again, I always think of something I could have changed so it has to stop somewhere.

How do you approach cover design?

Being visually impaired, if I were to design my own cover, it would look like something the cat dragged in, and I don’t even have a cat. The cover of my first book was designed by the publisher. Subsequent covers consisted of photos taken by friends. So far, all my book covers have turned out pretty well so I’ll always rely on others for this instead of trying to do it myself.

What do you read for pleasure?

I enjoy romances, memoirs, humorous books, and other fiction and nonfiction titles of general interest. I don’t particularly care for horror or fantasy. To each his own.

What is your e-reading device of choice?

Because of my visual impairment, I prefer to use a Victor Reader Stream. This is a little bit bigger than a credit card but fits easily into a pocket. It allows me to download and listen to recorded and printed books in specialized formats from the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped and Bookshare as well as certain types of text files. I can also enjoy podcasts, music, Internet radio, and more.

Describe your desk.

I use a three-corner desk that flanks two windows in my office. It contains my desktop magnifier, computer with keyboard and modem, a box of Kleenex and various papers, and my printer which sits on top of a station with drawers containing envelopes and other necessities.

What’s the story behind your latest book?

My Ideal Partner is a detailed account of how I met and married my late husband and then cared for him at home for six years after he suffered two strokes that paralyzed his left side.

What is the greatest joy of writing for you?

When I have a great idea for a poem or story and can get it on a computer screen, that’s the greatest joy of writing for me.

What do your fans mean to you?

My fans mean a great deal to me. If I can inspire or entertain someone, that’s great. If I can show someone he or she is not alone in the world, that’s even better. With My Ideal Partner, I hope to reach out to caregivers and let them know I’ve been in their situation and encourage them to keep on keeping on.

What are you working on next?

I’m working on a collection of short stories set in Wyoming, my home state. I got the idea after reading Ann Beattie’s The State We’re in, a collection of short stories set in her home state, Maine. One of the stories in my collection is entitled “Welcome to Wyoming” so that will probably be the title of the collection.

Who are your favorite authors?

My favorite authors are Debbie Macomber and Danielle Steel.

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?

I think of all the things I need to do, ideas for promoting my book and other projects, etc.

When you’re not writing, how do you spend your time?

I enjoy reading, listening to podcasts, and going out with friends to a restaurant, concert, or movie. I belong to a women’s singing group that practices once a week and performs occasionally.

How do you discover the eBooks you read?

I find books to read mostly by word of mouth. I follow a couple of blogs that review books regularly, and occasionally, friends recommend books they’ve enjoyed.

***

You can read this interview on my author profile page. While you’re at it, you may as well buy a copy of My Ideal Partner for only $3.99. If you’re visually impaired like me and don’t use a Kindle or Nook, Smashwords offers various eBook formats that can be read on a computer or other device.

Do you have any questions about me or my new book? Please leave them in the comments field, and I’ll answer them. Happy reading.

***

Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

We Shall Overcome

How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

My Ideal Partner: How I Met, Married, and Cared for the Man I Loved Despite Debilitating Odds

 

2 thoughts on “About Me and My Ideal Partner

  1. Abbie–Interesting post! I admire what a high level of writing you achieve with only three edits. Are you considering a you-tube video to promote your new book? I do hope that your book will help lighten the load of other care-givers.

    Looking forward to adding your book to my bookshelf–Alice and Willow

Leave a Reply

