Review: A Week in Winter

A Week in Winter

by Mave Binchy

Copyright 2012.

 

After living in New York City for twenty years, Chickie returns to her home town, a seaside village in Ireland. She buys an old house and turns it into a hotel with the help of the elderly woman who owned it, a former gangster, and her niece. Despite the skepticism of family and friends, her business venture is a success. The hotel’s first guests are a cast of interesting characters including an American actor, a couple of English doctors, a Swedish accountant, and others. As their stories unfold, the hotel becomes a place of healing for most of them.

I like the way the author tells the story from the point of view of each of the characters, providing plenty of back story to help us understand them. In a way, it reminds me of Debbie Macomber’s Rose Harbor Inn series. Unfortunately, this is one of the last books Mave Binchy wrote before she died. It’s too bad because I would like to have read more books about Chickie and her hotel and each guest whose outlook on life change after staying there.

Before my late husband Bill suffered his first stroke, he and I enjoyed traveling together. In 2005 before our wedding, we took an early honeymoon trip to California, and in 2006 just before his first stroke, we spent two weeks in Colorado. He might have enjoyed a trip to Ireland to stay in a hotel like Chickie’s, although I doubt we could have afforded it. You can read our story in My Ideal Partner: How I Met, Married, and Cared for the Man I Loved Despite Debilitating Odds.

***

Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

We Shall Overcome

How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

My Ideal Partner: How I Met, Married, and Cared for the Man I Loved Despite Debilitating Odds

Click to hear an audio trailer.

 

Leave a Reply

