Review: It’s Still Christmas

Abbie-1

It’s Still Christmas

By John Justice

Copyright 2015

 

From the author of The Paddy Stories: Book 1 comes a sweet novella set in Philadelphia in December of 2008 during a dwindling economy when many people fell on hard times. Bill and Eleanor Gleason and their two children, Kristen, 13, and Corey, eight, are on the run from creditors, living in their van, nearly penniless. During a snowstorm, they stop to help retired lawyer Abe Lowenstein, who’s car has slipped off the road and into a nearby creek. As a result, their circumstances change unexpectedly for the better.

I met John Justice, the author, through a writers’ group, Behind Our Eyes, and have enjoyed reading his work. It’s Still Christmas is one of those stories that makes me grateful for what I have. I snuggled under a blanket in my recliner, as I read the account of the family freezing in their van in a parking area with a Christmas tree shining nearby. This is definitely a must read for the holidays. I wish there were more people like Abe Lowenstein in this world.

***

Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

We Shall Overcome

How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

My Ideal Partner: How I Met, Married, and Cared for the Man I Loved Despite Debilitating Odds

Click to hear an audio trailer.

Like me on Facebook.

 

Leave a Reply

