Abbie’s in Love

Abbie-1

No, I haven’t found another man. Although my late husband Bill has been gone four years, I still love him. This Valentine’s Day, while others celebrate love for those still living, I still love a man who has left this world.

In light of Debbie Reynolds’ passing, I thought it would be nice to sing her 1957 hit, “Tammy,” during my performances at Sugarland Ridge and Westview last month. I now realize the song is also about me but in a different way. The following poem illustrates this. Click on the title to hear me read it.

***

I’M IN LOVE

 

Like the whispering cottonwood,

hooting owl, whippoorwill,

murmuring breeze,

melting snow dripping off the roof announces it.

The crow in the distance caws it.

The sun in the sky shouts it.

The cold winter breeze sighs it.

Although he’s no longer a part of this world,

He’s still with me in spirit.

I long to be in his arms

where I’ll sing for joy.

 

***

Now here’s my rendition of “Tammy.” Happy Valentine’s Day.

***

Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

We Shall Overcome

How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

My Ideal Partner: How I Met, Married, and Cared for the Man I Loved Despite Debilitating Odds

Click to hear an audio trailer.

Like me on Facebook.

 

7 thoughts on “Abbie’s in Love

  1. Abbie–How you did grab my attention with your subjectline this morning! My second guess about your subjectline was the correct one. Thank you for starting my computer morning with an absolutely beautiful rendition of one of my truly favorite songs from the 1950s! When I was a little girl, I loved the song “Tammy” and sang it many times. The “Tammy” movies with Debbie Reynolds and later Sandra Dee were also favorites of mine in the ’50s. Your voice is perfectly suited to singing the lovely ballad, and I imagine that many residents of the care centers where you often sing greatly enjoy your singing this particular song. Your piano accompaniment was also so very nice. Finally, your poem, both written and presented, shares so much with so many on this Valentine’s Day. On this heart-shaped day, I hope that you have many present and past moments to make you smile and enjoy this day.

    Take care–Alice and Willow (my furry Valentine!)

  2. Like you, I am still in love with My Valentine of 45 years. February 14 is a day I try to ignore. My brother died on Valentine’s Day in 2009, the same year my husband died. Loved your reading of your poem and your singing.

Leave a Reply

