Saturday Song: Amazing Grace–Scottish Bagpipes

Last week when I attended a concert by the U.S. Air Force band in a local park, I heard one lone bagpiper play “Amazing Grace.” He played it three times, and after the first time, I half expected the other band members to present bagpipes and play along with him, but of course they didn’t.

Nevertheless, that lone bagpipe took me back several months to January of this year when I visited my brother and his family in Florida. One day, we attended an epiphany ceremony at a local church where we heard a chorus of bagpipes playing “Amazing Grace.” That was phenomenal.

My mother liked “Amazing Grace,” so I sang it acapela at her memorial service after she passed in 1999. However, she didn’t like bagpipes. Who knows why I’m so taken with this version, which is similar to what I heard in Florida? I hope you find it as moving as I do. Enjoy your Saturday.

 

 

Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

We Shall Overcome

How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

My Ideal Partner: How I Met, Married, and Cared for the Man I Loved Despite Debilitating Odds

Click to hear an audio trailer.

Like me on Facebook.

2 thoughts on “Saturday Song: Amazing Grace–Scottish Bagpipes

  1. Hi Abbie, I listened to this first thing this morning. What a nice way to start my day. I liked the way the bagpipes started this piece, then the orchestra joined in, and finally, the solo bagpipes brought it home. Years ago when I was director of a museum, my secretary had an outdoor wedding along a creek. She and her new husband were kyakers and all their kyak friends were there camping out. A bagpiper came walking down the creek bank through the woods playing his music – and the wedding party came, one by one, down the creek in kyaks and canoies…to the sound of the bagpipes. How memorable it is. At the beginning, a flower girl in a canoe, was casting flowers on the surface of the water.

    • Thank you, Lynda. The version I presented here is similar to one I heard in Florida earlier this year. While visiting my brother and his family, I went with them to an epiphany service, which featured, among other attractions, a bagpipe orchestra playing “Amazing Grace.” I was mesmerized.

Leave a Reply

