Sunday Best: Writing Workshop

This past week, I attended a four-day writing workshop at The Sheridan Senior Center. We met for two hours each day. The instructor was Jane Elkington Wohl, a local author who taught English and creative writing at Sheridan College for years and has published several books of poetry.

This workshop focused on writing personal stories. Many participants were senior citizens. The main objective was for us to have tools to work with in our future writing. Jane gave us some great prompts, and we even learned about metaphors. Most of us, myself included, loved the workshop, and Jane promised to do it again next spring. I’ll be using some ideas I picked up in future blog posts, so stay tuned.

What’s the best thing that happened to you this past week? Please tell me about it in the comment field. I hope something good happens to you this coming week.

 

Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

We Shall Overcome

How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

My Ideal Partner: How I Met, Married, and Cared for the Man I Loved Despite Debilitating Odds

Click to hear an audio trailer.

Like me on Facebook.

 

4 thoughts on “Sunday Best: Writing Workshop

  1. Abbie–I was glad to read about your wonderful opportunity of attending the four-day writing workshop.  Wyoming offers many interesting gatherings for writers.

        On Monday, one of my book clubs met.  Although we did not rate the book highly, we had an interesting and stimulating discussion.  I always look forward to sharing with this group each month.Nine or so people staying on topic to discuss the chosen book makes for a special afternoon.

    Happy reading and writing–Alice

    • Thank you, Alice, I agree book clubs are fun. My regional talking book library has one that meets quarterly, and I enjoy reading the suggested books and attending the meetings. Unfortunately, our September meeting was at the same time as the writing workshop. Oh well, I still read the books, and I probably wouldn’t have read them if not for this group. They were both good. Happy reading and writing to you, too.

Leave a Reply

