Balancing Work and Pleasure #MondayMusings #OpenBookBlogHop #Inspiration

Welcome to another Open Book Blog Hop. Here’s this week’s question. “How do you turn off your internal editor when you are reading for enjoyment?

Well, to me, that’s like asking, “How do you breathe?” I don’t know. I just do it.

When I lose myself in something I’m reading for pleasure, I rarely think about how the work could be improved or changed. If something stands out, I may mention it when I review the book. Otherwise, I enjoy what I read for pleasure, knowing I don’t have to worry about editing it. I don’t read anything I don’t like.

If you’re an author, how do you turn off your internal editor when reading for pleasure. You can click here to participate on your blog and read other responses. Thank you for stopping by.

 

Abbie wears a blue and white V-neck top with different shades of blue from sky to navy that swirl together with the white. She has short, brown hair and rosy cheeks and smiles at the camera against a black background.Photo Courtesy of Tess Anderson Photography

Photo Resize and Description

by Two Pentacles Publishing

 

I have great news! For those who use the National Library Service for the Blind and Print Disabled in the United States, Why Grandma Doesn’t Know Me is now available in an audio format from their site. To download this book click here.

If you haven’t already done so, please subscribe to my email list to receive my monthly newsletter and other announcements. This is a one-way announcements list, meaning the only messages you’ll receive will come from me. So, you can rest assured that this list is low-traffic. Send a blank email to:  newsfrommycorner+subscribe@groups.io  You’ll receive a confirmation email. Reply to that with another blank message, and you should be good to go.

New! Why Grandma Doesn’t Know Me

Copyright 2021 by Abbie Johnson Taylor.

Independently published with the help of DLD Books.

The cover of the book features an older woman sitting in a wicker chair facing a window. The world beyond the window is bright, and several plants are visible on the terrace. Behind the woman’s chair is another plant, with a tall stalk and wide rounded leaves. The woman has short, white hair, glasses, a red sweater, and tan pants. The border of the picture is a taupe color and reads "Why Grandma Doesn't Know Me" above the photo and "Abbie Johnson Taylor" below it.

Photo Resize and Description

by Two Pentacles Publishing

 

Sixteen-year-old Natalie’s grandmother, suffering from dementia and confined to a wheelchair, lives in a nursing home and rarely recognizes Natalie. But one Halloween night, she tells her a shocking secret that only she and Natalie’s mother know. Natalie is the product of a one-night stand between her mother, who is a college English teacher, and another professor.

After some research, Natalie learns that people with dementia often have vivid memories of past events. Still not wanting to believe what her grandmother has told her, she finds her biological father online. The resemblance between them is undeniable. Not knowing what else to do, she shows his photo and website to her parents.

Natalie realizes she has some growing up to do. Scared and confused, she reaches out to her biological father, and they start corresponding.

Her younger sister, Sarah, senses their parents’ marital difficulties. At Thanksgiving, when she has an opportunity to see Santa Claus, she asks him to bring them together again. Can the jolly old elf grant her request?

Author: abbiejohnsontaylor

I'm the author of three novels, two poetry collections, and a memoir. My work has appeared in various journals and anthologies. I'm visually impaired and live in Sheridan, Wyoming, where for six years, I cared for my totally blind late husband who was paralyzed by two strokes. Please visit my website at: https://www.abbiejohnsontaylor.com

23 thoughts on “Balancing Work and Pleasure #MondayMusings #OpenBookBlogHop #Inspiration”

  1. Most of the time, I don’t mentally edit while I read. However, if I continually find too many adverbs, repeatedly used plots, Etc. I will mark them and I absolutely will mention in an interview. I will always find something positive to write about, and I rarely read anything I don’t enjoy unless it’s for work but I believe writers don’t learn if all they ever hear is “Oh how wonderful!”

    If someone is looking for a gooy fluffy 5 star review with not one word of what could be improved, thy never want me to review them.

    The best review I ever got stated great things about a book I wrote. It also told me what desperately needed to be improved on. It inspired my Pathway to Freedom Broken and Healed memoir.

    I might have never written anything more than what I had done when he sent that interview had I not been inspired and motivated to do a better job.

    This is me. I don’t expect people to agree.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Something I’m noticing is that there are a bunch of “best selling authors” who are getting by with a whole lot of junk which are things even five years ago would not be allowed. I believe this is largely due to the fact that if you say the least bit of negative thing concerning a book in a book review on Amazon they will not approve your review. We’re creating a bunch of thin skinned softhearted weakling authors. Heck for that matter it seems to me anyone under the age of 50 is more softhearted and thin skinned than any bunch I’ve seen in my life. Or maybe I’m just getting old.

        Patty Fletcher lives in Kingsport Tennessee where she works as an author and social media marketing assistant. Learn more at: http://www.pattysworlds.com

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Patty, I know what you mean about negative reviews. I was once banned from writing reviews on Amazon because I wrote a negative review. Now, if I don’t have anything nice to say about a book, I won’t review it. If I know the author, I may email that person with suggestions for improvement. But it’s not worth it to put a negative review out there and offend the author. Frankly, I wouldn’t want somebody posting a negative review online of any of my books for all to see, especially if it didn’t include some constructive criticism. Call me softhearted, but I seem to have mellowed out in my old age. I’m dictating this. So, please excuse any mistakes.

        Like

      3. Hi, I would never write only a negative review.

        That’s not what I mean.

        I always have something positive to say about a book, as you may have seen if you read a review of a book review, I wrote last evening on my FB timeline.

        If I dislike a book that much, it is quite doubtful I’d have finished it. I’ve put down more than one book in my life.

        What I mean is that if you write a review which mentions the least bit of a problem with the book, or God forbid only give it 3 and ½ stars which is the lowest I’ll go they won’t take it. It’s automated. There’s not even a live person making that decision, as far as I’ve been able to learn. At least not the last time I tried it.

        Now, if I review a book, I get from somewhere other than Audible, I review on Goodreads or my blog. But I’m so far behind there, I’ll never catch up.

        On Audible, if anyone cares to take the time to look, they’ve made it quite simple to rate a book without ever writing a word. They’ve checkboxes for everything from narration style, down to content.

        It’s a private and acceptable way to review honestly and no matter how you rate, they accept it.

        Book reviewing is an art unto itself. I’ve researched much concerning writing reviews.

        Patty L. Fletcher

        Bridging the great chasm which separates the disAbled from the non-disAbled

        Like

  2. It’s difficult to turn off the warier in me when reading a book for pleasure. I don’t do the two at the same time. I have 2 more “chapters” to write in my new Tracy Gayle story, “Sabotage.” When I’m finished with it, I’ll go get myself some books to read for enjoyment.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, that’s the story you’re working on. Yes, I’ve read the part Patty has posted. When you finish it, you should have DLD Books publish it. That way everyone can read the whole thing at once.

        Like

      2. I intend to do that. There’ll be other stories with it in the book. This one’s about 25,000 words .

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely!

      I’m getting ready to have all my first books published redone. The biggest complaint I received from people has been editing mistakes.

      My first editors edit and publish in out-of-date models. Then I had an editor for a while from New Zealand and she edited with her settings set only to her country’s grammar. I didn’t realize it until I started getting mail.

      Because I don’t want to be known as someone who doesn’t pay, I am continuing to pay her off but it’s a real mess.

      People should seriously not be 100 percent trusting of their editors. Know your grammar and have a secondary proofreader. Then people who have internal editors living inside themselves won’t be bothered by such.

      We who read via screen reader don’t always catch things.

      Patty L. Fletcher

      Bridging the great chasm which separates the disAbled from the non-disAbled

      Like

    2. Since I listen to books instead of reading them with my eyes, unless my text-to-speech program says something funky, I don’t notice a lot of typographical errors. Besides, unless you’re beta reading for someone, what good does it do to let that internal editor rear his ugly head?

      Like

What Do You Think?

Baydreamer ~ Lauren Scott

~ life in poetry and prose ~

The Showers of Blessings

Giving and Receiving Blessings

aurorawatcherak

"I hold it, that a little rebellion, now and then, is a good thing, and as necessary in the political world as storms in the physical."

DGKayewriter.com

Live, Love, Laugh & Don't Forget to Breathe!

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald

Rosie Amber

Book reviewer and garden enthusiast. Updates from my Hampshire garden. Usually talking about books and plants. People do not forget books or flowers that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

BosssyBabe

I’m just a girl, standing in front of a bread shop, asking for it to open.

Writing to be Read

Authors' Blog - Book Reviews, Author Profiles and Reflections on Writing

Living in God's Pocket with ABI

Nurturing Compassion and Stewardship

The Thoughts and Ramblings of Steve

Musings, observations, and experiences as I make my way in the world.

Pictures From The Kitchen Window

Barbara Spencer Writes...

Patty's Worlds

Bridging the great chasm which separates the disAbled from the non-disAbled

WEARY FEET.....HAPPY SOUL!

journeys of the mind and body

Empish J. Thomas

Freelance Writer, Disability Blogger and Accessibility Consultant. I write and blog about #Accessibility #AudioDescription #Blindness #Disability and #Reading

Nell Anthony

Sexy, Magikal, & Mysterious...