A Pirate Poem

How I Could Be a Pirate Despite Limited Vision

 

Prone to motion sickness on the high seas,

during battle, I can vomit

in the general direction of the opposing ship.

 

Able to see numbers on corners of bills,

when treasure falls into our hands,

I can count how much there is,

keep records in Braille,

 

entertain others with guitar and voice,

play a last request for those walking the plank.

If our ship goes down like the Titanic,

I’ll sing “Nearer My God to Thee.”

***

The above poem was inspired by this prompt. Click this link to hear me read the poem.

Now it’s your turn. Write a poem or essay, telling a pirate ship captain how you could be an asset to his crew. When I first read the prompt, I considered writing my poem in the form of a resume but realized that pirate captains don’t follow normal hiring procedures. They don’t reject prospective employees in the usual way, either. If I applied for a job with a gang of pirates, using the above poem as a resume, I would be the one walking the plank.

***

Abbie J. Taylor 010Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

Front Book Cover - We Shall OvercomeWe Shall Overcome

Cover: How to Build a Better Mousetrap by Abbie Johnson TaylorHow to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

Order from Amazon

2 thoughts on “A Pirate Poem

Leave a Reply

